week  31

Oxfam is not really unique with this programme, but I like the organization, and believe in the work they do.  The premise is the same for most of these programmes.  Instead of buying a traditional gift for someone, you go online, pick out something on their list, and that gift goes to benefit someone who could use the assistance. Oxfam Unwrapped is a great example of the model.

david suzuki

Admittedly, I’m not sure these gifts would go over well with everyone, but my sister asked for no real gifts this birthday, so instead I gave her an Oxfam Unwrapped gift.  Last Christmas I did the same thing with her, that time I went through the David Suzuki Foundation, and did there Where will Santa Live campaign.   It’s a great way to donate money, do something good, and feel like you are still giving a gift, because she really did enjoy it, and she posted the card from Oxfam and put it up on her bulletin board at home.  I’m always a fan of these programmes.   I encourage people to really look into the organization before supporting them.  There are certainly organizations whose work I would not support through this kind of project, but certainly there are lots of great ones out there.  Let the gifting begin! 

oxfam card

Leave a Reply

